Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Installing a timer switch on a gas fireplace?

UNC71-00

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
1,446
Our current indoor gas fireplace has (what appears to be) a standard wall mounted on/off light switch. Can I replace it with a timer switch like this? Or is there some different wiring scheme or switch type needed because LP is involved?

326C6954-E51B-4225-9E88-AEDF1DF2A2D2.jpeg
 

UNC71-00

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
1,446
How would one confirm this? Cut the breaker off and unscrew the existing switch, I guess
 

CarolinaBound2038

Leader
Founder
Joined
Jan 7, 2021
Messages
118
Our current indoor gas fireplace has (what appears to be) a standard wall mounted on/off light switch. Can I replace it with a timer switch like this? Or is there some different wiring scheme or switch type needed because LP is involved?

View attachment 6272
I put a turn knob timer on mine and works fine. I would assume this works the same. Just make sure it’s a single pole switch
 

UNC71-00

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
1,446
Man I can’t even find it in the breaker box, which is strange because this is a 3 year old house and the electrician was meticulous as hell when we built it
 

UNC71-00

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
1,446
2EA145E5-F8C6-46CF-854B-9F813FFCFB45.jpeg89365ABF-015A-423B-B074-CF05129EC02E.jpegD39CA8F9-B22C-4226-8903-9D8AC7AD15C3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • D80D272A-7681-4597-96A8-22BA853C0B8B.jpeg
    D80D272A-7681-4597-96A8-22BA853C0B8B.jpeg
    816 KB · Views: 0
  • 00F7DFDB-1169-4460-BA45-6D5F7C3384AF.jpeg
    00F7DFDB-1169-4460-BA45-6D5F7C3384AF.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 1
  • 95C91082-7D13-4838-88F2-D02A91DAA977.jpeg
    95C91082-7D13-4838-88F2-D02A91DAA977.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 2

UNC71-00

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
1,446
It’s going to be the switch for all the switches in that specific room

I tried that

FLOOR/HEAT probably

Didn’t try that one- will do it when I get home.

I was trying to figure out if the switch had some sort of other way of activating the FP without being on a circuit- was it some sort of special switch or something. I am a neophyte when it comes to electricity
 

Mmal7777

Elite
Founder
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
424
You can just kill the power to the house and switch out as well. I’ve done that to several of our rental properties when I was to lazy to figure out which breaker did what.
 

Monthly Donation Goal

  1. Campaign goal
    $111.11 of $500.00
Top Bottom