Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Need research/data/chart help to stop the mask gestapo in my school district

grimm515

Elite
Founder
Some of you know I work as an elementary school principal. Masks are an absolute firestorm in our community (as they are in most places). Our board has a few people that vote based on "the feels" instead of data and common sense. I know for a fact the board is 3 pro, 3 anti mask. The seventh I know is on the fence. I am going to speak at our board meeting tonight about how masks negatively impact learning and that the supposed health benefits aren't worth the educational and social-emotional costs.

If there are some good visual aids or data you have, please post it here and help me keep our students maskless. As a way of saying thanks I donated $20 (poorsinous) for your help and the trouble I caused the admins with my Juneteenth post. :ROFLMAO:

I'll update this evening with what our district decides.

2A02F3D3-ED8A-4A2A-AD34-86323E68A412.png

Last edited by a moderator:

ChicagoFats

Legendary
Founder
First of all thank you for standing up for Freedom of Speech.

Here is a great review of the "science" on masks. Summary: in 14 different types of studies 3 of the suggest that mask use may be helpful. Of note, these 3 studies are of the least scientific quality of the 14 studies. The other 11 studies show no statistical difference in mask use. In one particular study involving cloth masks, it suggest that there may be increased risk in mask use, albeit statistically insignificant.

Since there is no proof that masks work, its in my humble opinion, the base case should be to breathe fresh air. No one has a right to determine what you breathe. It very well may turn out 5 years from now that we decide masks are bad for you.

ChicagoFats

Legendary
Founder