Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Has anyone else had their driving skills ruined by automatic lane centering?

quickfeet

Get Steppin’
Founder
I've got automatic lane keeping/ centering on my car. Whenever I get into a car without it now, I'm just swerving back and forth in the lane. Probably looks like I'm a drunk driver. Similar experience with adaptable cruise control.

I feel that the new generation is going to be ruined when it comes to driving "non smart" vehicles

ChicagoFats

Legendary
Founder
I've got automatic lane keeping/ centering on my car. Whenever I get into a car without it now, I'm just swerving back and forth in the lane. Probably looks like I'm a drunk driver. Similar experience with adaptable cruise control.

I feel that the new generation is going to be ruined when it comes to driving "non smart" vehicles
My car is 2018 so it has lane keeping. But not centering. Left to it’s own devices it will swerve back and for the between the centerline and the edge. Basically it’s not good enough yet.

The adaptive cruise control is a great feature but most of the time it’s disrupts the flow of traffic by following the car in front a little too far behind.

So for now I don’t use the features and like driving myself. Not sure, maybe I need to stop being a poor and upgrade to a newer car where the features work better.

why do you swerve between the lanes?

MVTPatriot

Elite
Founder
I turn that shit off. My company car has it(2020). It still beeps but it doesn't self-correct.

When I get rentals, sometimes it's locked and you can't disable. Drives me nuts.

quickfeet

Get Steppin’
Founder
Had it in a rental car this year and it constantly pissed me off... I'd go to change lanes (don't always use my turn signal) and it would fight against me. Pretty stupid technology IYAM
Greatly depends on the vehicle from what I've found.

Tesla's is basically autopilot